Broker Check
Rakesh Bharti

Rakesh Bharti

Private Wealth Manager / Vice President of Investments

Education – BS with Distinction in Mechanical Engineering; MS in Mechanical Engineering from University of Michigan; MBA with high Distinction from University of Michigan.

Accreditations/Designations – Series 7 and Series 66.  CFP (Certified Financial Planner) in 2007, APMA (Accredited Portfolio Management Advisor) in 2017

Work Experience – Ford Motor Co – Engineering and Corporate Finance, Morgan Stanley – Financial Advisor 2004-2010, Ameriprise Financial – Financial Advisor and Associate Vice President – 2010-2019, Upstream Investment Partners – Private Wealth Manager, Vice President of Investments, 2019-present.

I started my career as an engineer.  I completed my MBA from University of Michigan in Finance while working, and moved to Corporate Finance at Ford Motor Company.  At Ford Finance, I worked as a manger in several diverse areas.  I passed my CFP exam in 2003, and decided to take early retirement from Ford and follow my passion by pursuing a career in Financial Planning and Wealth Management.  I started my Financial Advisor career at Morgan Stanley in 2004, and then moved to Ameriprise Financial in 2010.  In 2017, I received APMA (Accredited Portfolio Management Advisor) accreditation, significantly improving my understanding of portfolio management.  In 2019, I moved to Upstream Investment Partners as Private Wealth Manager.  Upstream provides a true open architecture, and allows a diverse array of investments for clients.  In summary, I believe my educational background, life experience, obtaining industry accreditations, and going through 2008 business cycle have made me a valuable wealth manager today.  

I am committed to high client satisfaction as my primary goal.  In that regard, I want to understand client needs, goals, and objectives.  Using all my experience, I strive to provide the best possible advice available.  My relationship with clients is that of their personal CFO, allowing objective advice and an open platform for discussion.

I am married with two grown up children.  My son is a MIT grad and presently a partner and trader in a hedge fund in Greenwich, CT.  My daughter is a PhD in Infectious diseases, and presently is assistant Professor at Penn State University.  I enjoy travelling, playing bridge, yoga, and tennis.